Skip to content

Order and get product advice: +44 (0) 1908 972 660

(Lines open 9am - 5.30pm Mon-Fri)

Need help? Call us at: 01908 972 660

(Lines open 9am - 5.30pm Mon-Fri)

Weighing Scales Blog Inscale Scales

What is EC Type Approval?

EC Type Approval can be granted to all electronic scales and most mechanical non-automatic weighing instruments (NAWI). The instrument has to meet the essential requirements contained in the EC Directive 90/384/EEC as amended, and implemented into UK Law under the 1995 Regulations (SI 1995 No. 1907). The most common route for ensuring the essential requirements of the Directive are met is through the European Standard for NAWIs, BS EN 45501.

EC Type Approval is demonstrated by meeting the requirements of BS EN 45501. As BS EN 45501 is equivalent to OIML R76, it is common that the test laboratory applies for the OIML certificate based upon the test results.

Inscale's selection of EC type approved scales

We offer a wide selection of EC trade certified scales that are required for verifying the weight of containers in compliance with SOLAS as well as for trading goods by weight. Click here to view our extensive range of trade approved scales for industrial and commercial applications.

Related Articles:

Just How Important is Calibration? 

What does OIML stand for and why is it Important?

Previous article How the Accumulation Function Works on a Weighing Scale

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields